28 Aug 2018


Diageo SA is pleased to announce that after receiving almost 400 entries into its eighth Responsible Drinking Media Awards (RDMAs), the finalists have been selected as follows:

Best Newspaper (Circulation < 50k and/or Community) - Samantha Lee (People’s Post); Marvin Charles (Cape Argus) and Nicole McCain (People’s Post).

Best Newspaper (Circulation > 50k) - Claire Keeton (Sunday Times); Norman Masungwini (Sunday Sun); Marchelle Abrahams (Sunday Tribune).

Best Online – Lynette Botha (Marie Claire Online); Vennessa Scholtz (Blogspot); Devon Koen (Herald Live).

Best Magazine – Lynette Botha (Marie Claire); Ilse Salzwedel (Rooi Rose) and Leigh Hermon (Essentials).

Best TV – Siyabonga Mbuzwana (eNCA); Cleopatra Jones (SABC); Cassandra Zungu (SABC)

Best Radio (Commercial and/or Large Stations) – Philippa Hudson & Amy-Rae Rispel (Cape Talk); Megan Lubke (Talk Radio 702) and Jonathan Fairburn (Talk Radio 702).

Best radio (Non-Commercial and/or Regional Stations) – Juju Senyatsi (Alex FM); Pieter Cloete (Groot FM) and Zingisa Chirwa (Rise FM).

Journalist of the Year, Best Up & Coming and Media House of the Year - to be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

The RDMAs recognise journalists and media at large for their efforts to positively influence perceptions and habits related to the irresponsible use of alcohol.

The awards are open to South African journalists who produce content that relates to responsible drinking and the impact of alcohol abuse, including issues such as drink driving, underage drinking, foetal alcohol syndrome, binge drinking and alcohol-related violence. Any published material on any media platform that aims to support this cause is eligible to enter the awards and win a prize.

The winner of each category will walk away with R15000 and a public acknowledgment for their efforts to help combat alcohol abuse in South Africa.

The 2018 judging panel was a mix of media experts consisting of opinion editor and writer, Caiphus Kgosana, SABC’s group executive of news and current affairs, Phathiswa Mogopeni, editor and journalist Bongani Siqoko, political journalist and chairperson of SANEF, Mahlatse Mahlase and award-winning journalist and media leader, Mary Papayya.

"It is encouraging to see how many journalists are actively producing content to engender social change in South Africa” says Caiphus Kgosana who acted as the editing judge this year.

"The entries were diverse in content and touched on a wide range of topical issues, from alcohol advertising regulations to more general stories and accounts of alcohol abuse".

Winners will be announced at an official awards ceremony on 13 September 2018 and this year, Haig Club Clubman, a single malt whiskey in the Diageo brand stable, will be the official event sponsor.

Haig Club Clubman was born out of a stylish partnership with David Beckham and designed to be different. Dressed in an innovative, stand-out, blue, square bottle, this scotch whisky has been crafted to appeal to both whiskey novices and connoisseurs alike.

For more information on the awards visit https://diageordma.co.za/.

About Diageo

Diageo is a global leader in beverage alcohol with an outstanding portfolio of brands consisting of Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, J&B, Buchanan’s and Windsor whiskies, Smirnoff, Cîroc and Ketel One vodkas, Captain Morgan, Baileys, Don Julio, Tanqueray and Guinness and many more. Diageo's alcohol beverages are sold in more than 180 countries around the world. The company is listed on both the London Stock Exchange (DGE) and the New York Stock Exchange (DEO).

For more information about Diageo, visit www.diageo.com and Diageo’s global responsible drinking resource, www.DRINKiQ.com, for information, initiatives, and ways to share best practice.